RSS Feed

Roasted Pistachio Pilaf with Orzo and Vermicelli 


I learned to make homemade Pilaf way back in the day from no other than the wonderful Rachael Ray. When I decided to learn how to cook again, pilaf was the very first recipe of hers that I had tried to make. It came out fantastic and I was stoked that I didn’t have to buy the box stuff in the store anymore.  SO of course I decided to incorporate all kinds of things into my homemade Pilaf. Nuts, dried fruits ( dried cranberries is SO good in this recipe) mushrooms, you name it and I added it.  This recipe takes no time to make and is a great side dish to any protein or simply just by itself. 

1/2 box of Vermicelli pasta broken into 1 inch pieces 

1 cup Orzo

2 tbsp butter

1 3/4 cup chicken stock 

1 cup unsalted Chopped pistachios 

Salt and pepper

Finely chopped flat leaf parsley 

Chop pistachios into bits. Spread evenly on a baking sheet and roast for 5 mins at 350. Once you can actually “smell” that wonderful roasted nut aroma, remove from oven and set aside. 

In a medium pan on medium heat, add butter, broken Vermicelli and Orzo. Stir and cook till brown  about 4 mins. Reduce heat to medium low heat and add chicken stock. Cover and simmer for about 15 -20 mins.  Add salt, pepper, chopped parsley and  Pistachios. Stir, taste for seasoning and serve alongside your favorite protein. 
Cooking time: about 25 mins

Serves 4 peeps. 
VEG, KF EDF

About wickeddeliciouskate

Avid Recipe writer, cook, Wife and mom of 2 beautiful girls. Writing recipes for any and "all" diets has become a obsessive passion of mine. I am a home-trained cook who was taught very early by my wonderful mother. I wish to full-fill "her" dream and now mine of writing my very own cookbook someday. The passion and inspiration that cooking and writing recipes ( for me) is like no other. It's what I live for and love to do. It's like a high that I would never want to come down from.

Leave a Reply

