RSS Feed

Green Eggs and Kale. 

  
I’m addicted to pesto! All kinds of Pesto’s as a matter of fact. They bring that extra special flavor to really any dish. I must admit, I’m not a HUGE egg eater. It’s not that I don’t like them it’s just that being the non-breakfast eater that I am , I never think to make them for any other meal except for breakfast.  I’m getting better though. 👍 These little Eggwiches I guess you could say are just perfect.  I paired hem with a hearty “Everything” style Italian bread cut into little slices, toasted with olive oil and garlic. Let me tell you the flavors that go on in this little dish is too DIE for.  Tangy, bold, and great for anyone going vegetarian or going meatless for meatless MONDAY. 

6 eggs

1/2 bundle Kale tripped and torn from the stems. 

1/4 cup freshly grated Parmigiano reggiano 

1/4 cup pine nuts

1/4 cut raw walnuts 

3 whole garlic cloves for pesto

4-6 whole garlic cloves for bread 

2 teaspoons lemon zest

3/4 cup olive oil

1 loaf Everything Italian bread ( or whichever bread you prefer) 

Salt and pepper

Toast pine nuts and walnuts in a shallow skillet on med for 6 mins. In a food processor add kale, Parmigiano,lemon zest, whole garlic, toasted pine nuts/walnuts and  salt and pepper. Pulse mixture while drizzling in about 1/2 to 3/4 cups olive oil just till mixture pulls away from the sides. 

Whisk eggs in a med bowl and add salt and pepper. Now, whisk pesto into eggs a little at time. 

Cut bread into 1 1/2 thick slices, drizzle with olive oil and toast on broil for  about 3 mins till top is brown. Remove and rub fresh garlic cloves onto top each toasted slice and sprinkle with salt and pepper. 

Preheat a medium skillet on med heat, add eggs and cook till eggs are a tad bit runny( once you remove the eggs from the skillet they will continue to cook so I remove just shy of fully cooked) 

Portion out eggs onto slices of toast and add some freshly grated Parmigiano right on top and serve. 

Cooking time: 12 mins 

Serves 6 peeps

VEG,EDF 

About wickeddeliciouskate

Avid Recipe writer, cook, Wife and mom of 2 beautiful girls. Writing recipes for any and "all" diets has become a obsessive passion of mine. I am a home-trained cook who was taught very early by my wonderful mother. I wish to full-fill "her" dream and now mine of writing my very own cookbook someday. The passion and inspiration that cooking and writing recipes ( for me) is like no other. It's what I live for and love to do. It's like a high that I would never want to come down from.

Leave a Reply

