RSS Feed

Creamy Butternut squash and Yogurt soup.

  

I love soups. I really do!! They’re the type of thing you wanna make when you’re really not sure about “What” to make? Adding a bunch of  wonderful and flavorful ingredients into a hot pot  just seems like the perfect choice when undecided. This is just a wonderful “fall” dish that’s really healthy, creamy and seriously fills you up on a chilly night. 

1 butternut squash peeled and chopped 

6 ounces Non-Fat greek yogurt. 

1 tablespoons nutmeg 

1 tablespoon cinnamon 

1/4 cup Fat free heavy cream. 

Salt and pepper

Low fat sour cream and chopped chive for garnish. 
Peel and chop squash into small pieces. Add to a boiling pot of water. Boil till tender ( about 20-25 mins depending on how small pieces are.  Once tender, drain and put into a processor. Add yogurt, cinnamon, nutmeg and salt and pepper. Purée till creamy. Add mixture back to pot. Whisk in cream. Turn heat to med/low heat and let simmer for 10 mins. Remove and potion out into bowls. Top with chopped chive and sour cream and serve. 

About wickeddeliciouskate

Avid Recipe writer, cook, Wife and mom of 2 beautiful girls. Writing recipes for any and "all" diets has become a obsessive passion of mine. I am a home-trained cook who was taught very early by my wonderful mother. I wish to full-fill "her" dream and now mine of writing my very own cookbook someday. The passion and inspiration that cooking and writing recipes ( for me) is like no other. It's what I live for and love to do. It's like a high that I would never want to come down from.

2 responses »

  1. This looks very good. I seldom make soup because my husband doesn’t think it’s a meal, but I do get in the mood for soup in the fall and this one looks warm and satisfying.

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

