RSS Feed

Greek olive and tomato tapenade spinach pasta.

   
 

I’m a salty girl. I would rather dive into a huge box of cheez-it’s than indulge in a giant piece of chocolate cake. So this recipe that I had happened to come up with on my long ride home from work today was right up my alley. My first time having olive tapanade was a few years back at a friend holiday party and I remember thinking “Geez” I should come up with a pasta recipe for this stuff! I’d literally eat it on and off of pretty much anything but, pasta seemed like a perfect choice?? Fast forward to a few later, well, today to be exact and “BOOM” !! Tapanade pasta!! Salty and tangy from the olives and feta and a tiny bit of sweetness from the cherry tomatoes that was also added. A great vegetarian dish and just Total-PASTA-HEAVEN!!! 

1 lb tagliatelle verde ( spinach fettuccine)

2 cups kalamata olives ( about 2 jars)

1 cup cherry tomatoes

2 tablespoons capers 

3 cloves garlic 

2 teaspoons dry oregano

3 tablespoons lemon juice 

2 tablespoons olive oil

Salt and  pepper

Feta cheese for garnish

In a food processor, combine drained olives and capers( I save about a tablespoon of olive juice to add into my tapenade) tomatoes, garlic, lemon juice, oregano, 2 teaspoons black pepper and pulse while drizzling in your olive oil. Pulse till mixture is thick and somewhat chunky ( texture is somewhat like a really thick and chunky pesto sauce). Set aside. 

 ( you will not need to add ANY salt to the tapanade because the olives and capers give it all the salt flavor you’ll need) 

Cook pasta as directed making sure to salt your water before dropping the pasta.  Once pasta has the ever so loving “al dente” BITE, drain and add back to your pot. Pour in tapanade and mix thoroughly. Serve in pasta bowls and add some crumbled feta right on top and enjoy, enjoy, ENJOY!! 
Cooking time: 5-7 mins

Serves 4-6 peeps

EDF,LC,VEG 

About wickeddeliciouskate

Avid Recipe writer, cook, Wife and mom of 2 beautiful girls. Writing recipes for any and "all" diets has become a obsessive passion of mine. I am a home-trained cook who was taught very early by my wonderful mother. I wish to full-fill "her" dream and now mine of writing my very own cookbook someday. The passion and inspiration that cooking and writing recipes ( for me) is like no other. It's what I live for and love to do. It's like a high that I would never want to come down from.

Leave a Reply

