RSS Feed

Caprese style English muffin pizzas. 

   
   

These I have to tell you are one of my most favorite recipes my mom made for me as a kid! Every Friday night, we would have pizza night! Something that I try and do every Friday night with my own kids. It was always just my mom and I and let’s face it, we were far from having the cash to enjoy a “Take-out” pizza so, instead she would always make these wonderful “homemade” pizzas for us and they were ALWAYS amazing! These were such a treat to have. Sometimes instead of adding mozz, sauce, or whatever she would put on them, she would add slices of velveeta, tomato and top with bacon…Super good! This is my grown up version of the English muffin pizza. Super quick and if you cook them under the broiler they take only minutes to cook. My girls love these and there are so many ways and different toppings you can add. This recipe is not rocket science but, more of a fun little recipe to make that will make everyone in your family happy. 

Ingredients: 

4 whole wheat English muffins split in half

8 thin cut “beefsteak” tomato slices 

4 thick slices of fresh mozzarella

8 fresh basil leaves

2 teaspoons smoked paprika

4 garlic cloves 

Olive oil

Salt and pepper

Preparation: 

Heat oven on broil, place sliced “sliced” English muffins on a cookie sheet, drizzle with olive oil and add a dash of salt and pepper. Broil muffins till golden and crispy on top( about 3-4 mins).

Remove and rub garlic gloves over each slice. Add 2 slices of tomato, 1 slice of mozzarella to each slice.

 Sprinkle a little bit  smoked paprika on top and transfer back to broiler. 

Broil till cheese is brown and melted on top ( about 2-3 mins) remove, sprinkle with salt and pepper and add 2 basil leaves to each top and serve. 

Cooking time: approx 7-8 mins

Serves 4 peeps

KF,EDF,DF,LF

About wickeddeliciouskate

Avid Recipe writer, cook, Wife and mom of 2 beautiful girls. Writing recipes for any and "all" diets has become a obsessive passion of mine. I am a home-trained cook who was taught very early by my wonderful mother. I wish to full-fill "her" dream and now mine of writing my very own cookbook someday. The passion and inspiration that cooking and writing recipes ( for me) is like no other. It's what I live for and love to do. It's like a high that I would never want to come down from.

Leave a Reply

