RSS Feed

Baked Whole Wheat Salami and Swiss “Pita” pinwheels

    

I absolutely love these little things. I make these for my kids all the time because they’re quick easy and take no time at all. I love using pita bread for a standard pizza crust( less mess) and using pita bread for a pizza crust gives it a nice thin crust that I totally love. These, I sort of compare to a really thin “Calzone” with a nice little crunch. These being only 3 ingredients and will totally please the kiddies and even the “Bigger” kiddies alike. 

4 whole whole wheat pita breads 

16 slices of hard salami ( 4 to 1 ratio) 

8 slices of Swiss cheese ( 2 to 1 ratio)

Cut each pita about 3/4 of the way from the top. Place 2 slices of salami on bottom, then 2 slices of Swiss, and another 2 slices of salami. Roll pita inward as you would like rolling a sandwich wrap( do this for each pita). Place on to a baking sheet and bake in a preheated 350 degree oven for  about 10 mins. Remove and slice each pita into about a 2 inch pinwheel. Serve with your favorite condiment such as mustards, mayos, even a little warm marinara on the side. 😉 

Cooking time: approx 10 mins

Serves 4 peeps

EDF,KF,DF

About wickeddeliciouskate

Avid Recipe writer, cook, Wife and mom of 2 beautiful girls. Writing recipes for any and "all" diets has become a obsessive passion of mine. I am a home-trained cook who was taught very early by my wonderful mother. I wish to full-fill "her" dream and now mine of writing my very own cookbook someday. The passion and inspiration that cooking and writing recipes ( for me) is like no other. It's what I live for and love to do. It's like a high that I would never want to come down from.

One response »

  1. I have never seen this before, looks amazing

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

Leave a Reply

