RSS Feed

Tomato and Ricotta Gemelli with ground veal. 

  
One of the things I was made to eat as a small child was veal. I never really knew what it really was until I had gotten older and kind of figured it out on my own. I wasn’t too keen on veal when I was a kid but, now that I have gotten older and cook for myself now, I really do enjoy it. This was just a simple little recipe that combines some great ingredients. Reminds me of some sort of a “Lazy” Lasagna in a way. 😋😋😋
1 lb Gemelli pasta

2 cans whole peeled tomatoes 

2 cups low fat ricotta 

3/4 lb ground veal

2 teaspoons dry or fresh basil

2 cloves garlic grated 

1/2 grated onion plus juice

Olive oil 

Salt and pepper

Grated Parm and pecorino

Chopped Fresh parsley or basil for garnish 
Heat medium size sauce Panther Mee high heat, drizzle olive oil and ads grated garlic and grated onion/juice.

Add can tomatoes,basil, salt and pepper. Once sauce comes to a boil, reduce heat to med and let simmer for 30 mins till safe becomes thicken and reduced( every so often keep breaking up the tomatoes with a wooden spoon to get it going) 

In a skillet over med high heat,  add a touch of olive oil. Next add ground veal, salt and pepper and cook till veal is browned. 

Once veal is cooked, add to tomato sauce. And reduce to low heat. Taste for seasoning. 

Cook pasta as directed, salting water before adding pasta to boiling water. 

Add drained and cooked pasta to sauce and stir. Now add your ricotta. Combine and serve with either chopped parsley or basil and sprinkle some freshly grated Parmesan or pecorino cheese. 

Cooking time: approx 45 mins

Serves 4 to 6 peeps

EDF

About wickeddeliciouskate

Avid Recipe writer, cook, Wife and mom of 2 beautiful girls. Writing recipes for any and "all" diets has become a obsessive passion of mine. I am a home-trained cook who was taught very early by my wonderful mother. I wish to full-fill "her" dream and now mine of writing my very own cookbook someday. The passion and inspiration that cooking and writing recipes ( for me) is like no other. It's what I live for and love to do. It's like a high that I would never want to come down from.

Leave a Reply

