RSS Feed

Cream of White Asparagus with lemon grass and ginger.

    

Funny thing, as a child I wasn’t the biggest veggie lover. Especially any veggie that was “Green” colored. But, as an adult, I am absolutely in love with all things veggie related and I love finding new and creative ways to use them. Asparagus is one of my fav green veggies of choice now a days along with Kale, spinach, green beans etc.etc. I do have to admit that I was sort of skeptic  about trying the whole “White” asparagus craze because I thought it would really just lack the flavor. To me, a veggie that has a bright and vibrant color means that it’s not only super good for you but, also extremely flavorful so when I had chosen the white over the green for this soup I was a little worried that it would lack on flavor? I was wrong 100 times tenfold. This soup came out exactly how I had hoped and highly anticipated. Full of flavor and just a pop of color from adding a little green onion and some hot red pepper flakes to give it a little bit of a slight kick. 

1 bundle “White” asparagus chopped bottoms discarded

1 stem lemon grass sliced and julienned 

2 cloves garlic grated

2 cups low sodium chicken stock

1/4 cup low fat sour cream

1 teaspoon ground ginger

1/4 cup milk or half and half

1 tablespoons butter

1 tablespoons flour ( corn starch for GF peeps)

1/4 chopped green onion for garnish 

1 teaspoon red pepper flakes also for garnish

Salt and pepper

In a medium size pot over med low heat, add chicken stock and chopped asparagus,lemon grass and simmer for 35 mins breaking up veggies with a wooden spoon every so often. Once asparagus has soften and has completely broken apart, remove from heat and add to a food processor. Pour in milk/cream, sour cream and ginger purée till smooth( mixture will be a little bit lumpy) . In same pot heat in med heat and add butter and grated garlic.  Once butter has melted and bubbling stir and flour and cook flour out for about 30 sec. Now pour in mixture into pot and stir. Once soup has thickened add salt and pepper, taste for seasoning and pour into individual sized bowls. Top with green onion and red pepper flakes and serve. 

Cooking time: 45 mins

Serves 4-6 peeps

EDV,GF ( replace flour with corn starch) DF,LF,LC,VEG

About wickeddeliciouskate

Avid Recipe writer, cook, Wife and mom of 2 beautiful girls. Writing recipes for any and "all" diets has become a obsessive passion of mine. I am a home-trained cook who was taught very early by my wonderful mother. I wish to full-fill "her" dream and now mine of writing my very own cookbook someday. The passion and inspiration that cooking and writing recipes ( for me) is like no other. It's what I live for and love to do. It's like a high that I would never want to come down from.

One response »

  1. This looks delicious. I too am a bit nuts about my greens and love to throw some chopped kale or a handful of baby spinach into practically anything – soups, risottos, curries and even omelets. Great post. I will have to try this next spring when asparagus is in season in Australia

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

