RSS Feed

Banana strawberry breakfast muffins with a sweet lemon glaze

IMG_7933

IMG_7936

IMG_7935

So as I have stated quite often “I CANNOT BAKE”!! So what do I do?? I buy the box stuff and try and get as creative as I possibly can. This was a simple recipe using a standard box strawberry cake mix, adding in some ripened bananas and fresh chopped strawberries. Super simple. Not to mention the 2 ingredient lemon glaze which is just 1 cup confectionary sugar and the juice of 1 lemon plus zest. Really great and takes no time to make.

1 box strawberry cake mix
1 cup chopped fresh strawberries
2 ripened bananas
1 cup confection sugar
1 lemon
2 teaspoons lemon zest
Halved strawberries for garnish

Make cake mix as directed. Add in bananas and mix into batter smashing the bananas with a fork into batter. Add in chopped strawberries and mix. Try not to over mix batter. Line a 12 capacity cupcake pan with liners. Pour batter into each liner half way up ( using an ice cream scooper usually works better with less mess). Bake in a 350 degree oven for 10 mins.
While cupcakes are baking, in a bowl add confection sugar and squeeze one whole lemon and lemon zest into sugar and stir till thick. Glaze should be thick but pourable. Once muffins are done, remove from oven. Let muffins cool for about 5 mins and drizzle with glaze. Top with some strawberry halves and enjoy.

Cooking time: 10 mins

Serves 12 peeps

EDF,KF

About wickeddeliciouskate

Avid Recipe writer, cook, Wife and mom of 2 beautiful girls. Writing recipes for any and "all" diets has become a obsessive passion of mine. I am a home-trained cook who was taught very early by my wonderful mother. I wish to full-fill "her" dream and now mine of writing my very own cookbook someday. The passion and inspiration that cooking and writing recipes ( for me) is like no other. It's what I live for and love to do. It's like a high that I would never want to come down from.

Leave a Reply

