RSS Feed

Mango and Cranberry Rice Pilaf

IMG_4157.JPG

IMG_4158.JPG

So this recipe I thought up as kind of an accident. Originally I was planning to use some “Plum” wine too cook this rice dish but, I’m “SUCH” a brainiac that while I was trying to open the wine bottle with the bottle opener, I ended up breaking off the tip of the opener and it ended up getting STUCK inside the bottle itself!! Nice huh?? LOL. So what did I do?? Just used some leftover Mango juice that I had sitting in the fridge as a flavor enhancer for my rice.. Sometimes some of the more dumber things I do end up becoming some of the smartest?? Ahaha. This actually turned out really yummy and I was actually sort of shocked it came out as good as it did. Such a great fall recipe with tons and TONS of wonderful FLAVORS. And it’s Monday so it makes a great meatless Monday dish to serve . The cranberries are also a great addition , they give it a little bit of a sweet and sour combo that worked really beautifully..

1 cup white rice
2 cups mango juice
1 cup whole cranberries
1/2 cup frozen peas
1 cup chopped carrots
1 med onion chopped
2 cloves garlic chopped
2 tablespoons smart balance
Salt pepper

Heat a med sized sauce pan over med high heat, add smart balance, chopped garlic,onion and carrot and sautΓ©e for about 4 mins till veggies start to soften a bit. Next add your mango juice and bring to a boil. Once juice comes up to a boil, add you your. Stir and reduce to low and simmer for 10 mins. Once rice is nice and fluffy and liquid has absorbed add your cranberries and peas, salt and pepper. Stir and remove from heat. Recover pot for about a min to let the stream soften the cranberries and peas a bit. Platter up and serve with some fresh chopped parsley or dill

Cooking time. Approx 14 mins

Serves 4 to 6 peeps

GF,LF,LS,HH

About wickeddeliciouskate

Avid Recipe writer, cook, Wife and mom of 2 beautiful girls. Writing recipes for any and "all" diets has become a obsessive passion of mine. I am a home-trained cook who was taught very early by my wonderful mother. I wish to full-fill "her" dream and now mine of writing my very own cookbook someday. The passion and inspiration that cooking and writing recipes ( for me) is like no other. It's what I live for and love to do. It's like a high that I would never want to come down from.

3 responses »

  1. Love it! Thank you for sharing the recipe. Going to follow your blog.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

Leave a Reply

