RSS Feed

Mexican style “Yellow” split pea soup with Chorizo and Everything Bagel croutons!!

IMG_3695.JPG

Let me start off by saying I am NOT a “PEA SOUP” fan by any means, we make it in work every single Sunday( without bacon might I add) and for some reason I just could never get over the weird dark greenish lumpy consistency and often wondered why people would decide to ingest this?? Don’t get me wrong I love peas just not all mashed up. Really reminded me of just a big bowl of baby food….. So I got this little idea?? I saw these little pretty “Yellow” split peas in the grocery store the other day and thought to myself ” Maaaaybe, if I buy these cute little yellow split peas instead of the ugly green peas that I am so used to seeing, Maaayyybee I can actually make this soup a little bit more appealing and add sort of a Mexican twist to make it that much more appetizing and DELICIOUS”??? Ok so that was kind of a long drawn out thought but, hey when I’m grocery shopping sometimes I will end up in an aisle just standing there staring for mins on end.. Not saying a word but, just staring.. People must think I’m frigging nuts and kind of creepy but, who the hell cares?? They aren’t inside my brain?? They aren’t the ones that are deciding what recipes I am going to create with all these wonderful and sometimes unique ingredients that I find?? Ok, maybe I am going a little overboard with my thoughts and more than likely nobody even cares if I stand there and stare like a weirdo on the side of the aisle?? ANYWAYYY, back to the soup!! So I figured usually a traditional pea soup is made with Bacon, so why not use chorizo and add some great Mexican FLAVORS like cilantro, coriander, cumin etc.etc. ?? Well, I was quite surprised to find out that I just might be a genius in pea soup making?? This was just AWESOME and looked and tasted NOTHING like the Sunday night Exorcist” spew that I am currently not the fondest of…..Lol so without further ado.. Here’s the recipe..

1 bag yellow split peas
1 medium onion chopped and diced
3 cloves garlic chopped
4 celery stalks chopped and diced
3 carrots chopped and diced
2 tablespoons coriander
2 tablespoons cumin
1 teas ancho chili powder
1 box chicken stock
8 slices of chorizo chopped and diced ( I used the pre packaged slices but, you can use whole chorizo)
2 drizzles olive oil
2 tablespoons butter
3 tablespoons chopped cilantro
Everything bagel chips for garnish and croutons.
Salt and pepper

In a medium sized pot over med high heat, drizzle some olive oil and 2 tablespoons butter. Next, add garlic, onion, and chopped chorizo. Let the veggie and chorizo cook about 2 mins and then add your carrot, celery, dash of salt and pepper, coriander and cumin, chili powder and cook for approx 6 mind just till veggies start to soften. Once veggies have softened a bit, then add your chicken stock. Once pot comes to a boil, drop heat down to medium and add you split peas. Stir and boil on med for 20 mins. Once peas start to loosen and soften, cover and reduce heat to med low for roughly 30 to 35 mins removing the cover every so often to break the peas up with a wooden spoon ( you want to simmer this soup for at least 35 mins so it gives time for the peas to really get soft and creamy) if soup is really thick after those 35 mins are up, add another 1/4 cup of chicken stock.

While soup is simmering take a few slices of chorizo and lay on a cooking sheet.. Bake at 350 for 6 mins till chorizo is crispy, remove from oven and chop, then set aside.
Once soup is nice and creamy, remove from heat and ladle into soup bowls. Takes your chopped chorizo and cilantro and sprinkle around your soup then add some of those delicious Everything bagel chips right on top and serve.

Cooking time: approx 1 hr

Serves 8 peeps

EVF,HH,DF GF( if serving without bagel chips)

About wickeddeliciouskate

Avid Recipe writer, cook, Wife and mom of 2 beautiful girls. Writing recipes for any and "all" diets has become a obsessive passion of mine. I am a home-trained cook who was taught very early by my wonderful mother. I wish to full-fill "her" dream and now mine of writing my very own cookbook someday. The passion and inspiration that cooking and writing recipes ( for me) is like no other. It's what I live for and love to do. It's like a high that I would never want to come down from.

2 responses »

  1. This sounds absolutely delicious. As a huge fan of soups in general, I am really looking forward to giving this a go!

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

