RSS Feed

KATE THE “GREAT”

Ok, so I was contacted by “The Rachael Ray” show a few weeks ago and was graciously asked to do a “Viewer” video tip for them. Ummmm, HELL YES!! I am a huge, HUGE Rachael Ray fan and have been for YEARS!! It basically all started with my mom.

She had been watching Rachael for years and always calling me and telling me about the show and all the recipes Rachael had made. I never even really knew who she was until one day, I had went and visited my mom and she was watching her. She kept laughing at all the things Rach said like “Yumo” DELISH” Stoup”. Every time I had gotten in trouble or did something stupid my mom would ALWAYS say to me “What the hell is the Mattah with ya? why are you being such a “STOUP”?? Lol. That one really got her going. All I remember is how happy watching the show made her and that “VERY” same day I really became an avid Rachael Ray fan.

My mom passed away in July of 08. She had been “Very” sick most of my life, Physically and Mentally. But, the one thing I remember the most is that when that woman got in that DAMN kitchen, she was ON FIRE…. Cooking made her so incredibly happy and I swear relieved some of the stress from all the illnesses she was suffering from? She could cook anything and I mean ANYTHING!! My mom was a “Great” baker ( something I am NOT) and just made everything just look and taste so amazing. Anyway, after my mom passed I started watching the RR show all the time. Buying all her books, products etc. But for some strange reason watching Rachael is really kind of my one connection I still have with my mom. I know it seems weird but, it’s so true. I had stopped cooking for MANY years up until my mother passed away. Now, in the 6 years she’s been gone it just seems like I can’t stop. I love writing recipes and it really is like my sort of “high” that I really never want to come down from. Crazzzy right??

So back to my original intent for this blog!! I got asked to do a viewer video for them. It was actually aired today. They were doing a “Party” planning show and wanted me to come up with something creative to give my guests as a kind of doggy bag. I found these cute little “Chinese” take out boxes in various colors. I also found these awesome chalk board tags you could write someone’s name or a little cute personal message on. The video came out fantastic.. They called me the next day and said they loved it and that they could really have me on the show.. WHOA!!! WHAT?? I couldn’t even breathe after hearing that. Anyway they aired it today and right after my little 30 sec of airtime and , SHE DID IT!!!And by her I mean RACHAEL said ” That my NEW NAME NOW IS “KATE THE GREAT”!!! I Almost died!! it was just too cool that she have me a nickname ON AIR!! I couldn’t believe it!! I would just love to get on and cook with this woman. I have 2 very high priorities on my “Bucket list” number 1 is writing my cookbook and #2 is yup, you guessed it?? Getting on the SHOW and cooking with Rachael!! Really hoping I get this amazing chance someday?? I would literally scrub EVERY single TOILET in that ENTIRE studio with a fricken TOOTHBRUSH to get a chance to cook with her.. sounds gross, I know but, desperate times calls for desperate measures!! Lol.. πŸ˜†πŸ˜†πŸ˜†πŸ˜†

IMG_3456.JPG

IMG_3457.JPG

IMG_3458.JPG

I have met her twice once in 07 and once in 08!! Great lady!!

IMG_3461.JPG

IMG_3462.JPG

IMG_3459.JPG

IMG_3460.JPG

Annnnnd went to the show twice last year. May and Oct with my BFF!! Awesome, AWESOME time!!

About wickeddeliciouskate

Avid Recipe writer, cook, Wife and mom of 2 beautiful girls. Writing recipes for any and "all" diets has become a obsessive passion of mine. I am a home-trained cook who was taught very early by my wonderful mother. I wish to full-fill "her" dream and now mine of writing my very own cookbook someday. The passion and inspiration that cooking and writing recipes ( for me) is like no other. It's what I live for and love to do. It's like a high that I would never want to come down from.

2 responses »

  1. How awesome! Congratulations Kate the “Great”! I am sure your mom is looking down on you with a huge smile from ear to ear. πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

Leave a Reply

