RSS Feed

Panzanella flat bread pizzas

IMG_2585.JPG

IMG_2583.JPG

Usually my family and I do the whole “Friday night pizza night” each week but, as of lately I am really trying to get my family to eat a whole lot better ( including myself) Since I am mostly writing recipes for all types of diets, why not try and incorporate some of the knowledge that I have learned and put it to good use? This is basically a cross between a Panzanella salad and well, a pizza. Can’t get any better or easier than that. Right?? My kids went crazy for this so even though it’s topped with a great tasting salad, they really didn’t know that “MOM” ( meaning me.. Lol) was being a little tricky and creating a nice and healthy, light pizza night..

1 large flatbread ( I used one that had thyme, Rosemary and garlic baked in)
2 med sized tomatoes cut into 6 wedges
1 medium size red onion sliced
2 cloves garlic chopped
1 teaspoon dry oregano
1/4 cup mozzarella
2 drizzles of olive oil
1 teaspoon red wine vinegar
1/2 cut squeezed lemon juice
Fresh cut parsley or Basil leaves ( usually I would use fresh basil but, my kids aren’t basil freaks like me so they prefer the chopped parsley. By all means use the fresh basil. It’s what’s I prefer.)

Pre-heat oven at 375

On a baking sheet, place flat bread and add your shredded mozzarella and drizzle a “Tad” of olive oil and dry oregano on top. Bake at 375 for 8 mins
In a large bowl, add your tomato wedges, sliced shallots,chopped garlic, parsley, olive oil, vinegar, lemon juice, and a dash of salt and pepper and toss.
Once flatbread is nice and brown and cheese has melted, remove from oven and place on a clean cutting board. add your salad on top and garnish with chopped parsley and serve.

note: Serve your pizza on a cutting board instead of plates. This makes a beautiful presentation and it “SCREAMS” relax, eat and enjoy…

Cooking time: approx 10 mins

Serves 4 peeps

LF,LC,EDF,LS,KF

About wickeddeliciouskate

Avid Recipe writer, cook, Wife and mom of 2 beautiful girls. Writing recipes for any and "all" diets has become a obsessive passion of mine. I am a home-trained cook who was taught very early by my wonderful mother. I wish to full-fill "her" dream and now mine of writing my very own cookbook someday. The passion and inspiration that cooking and writing recipes ( for me) is like no other. It's what I live for and love to do. It's like a high that I would never want to come down from.

Leave a Reply

