RSS Feed

Kale and bread stuffing “Stuffed” Portobello

IMG_2626.JPG

IMG_2625.JPG

I swear I have been on some kind of “Mushroom” kick lately that I really cannot get enough? Funny part is I use to “DESPISE” mushrooms as a kid but, absolutely love them now.. Along with mushrooms, I didn’t like green beans, asparagus, spinach etc, etc I remember that just the thought of having to put them in my mouth while my mother glaring at me as to say “you feed that DOG ( my dog Casey who was always under the table at dinner time) any of those veggies, Ya DEAD” was just enough to make me a little afraid and gag all at the same time!!! Memories that like make me kind of sympathize with my kids because they are “sort of” picky. My oldest Abbey who is now 13 is usually more adventurous and will usually try anything, while my youngest who is 4 seems to have some sort of weird texture problem and even refuses to eat a “BOWL” of cereal!! What kid “hates” cereal??? Mine apparently? Lol.
I absolutely love stuff mushrooms and these really hit the spot. Nice thick bread stuffing that is just so hearty and delicious you would never guess it’s actually good for you?? haha Go figure!!

6 Portobello Mushroom ( cleaned with a damp paper towel
1/2 loaf of stale bread ( I usually use French or Italian) chopped into cubes
1/2 bundle of Kale ripped and torn from stems
1 tablespoon dry thyme
1 tablespoon dry sage
1 tablespoon dry rosemary
1 tablespoon Smoked paprika
3 cloves garlic
1 medium onion chopped
2 sticks of chopped celery
1/4 cup Italian breadcrumbs
1/2 cup low sodium Beef stock or if going “Vegan” use veggie stock instead
3 tablespoons Butter or “Smart Balance”
Dash of salt and pepper
A few drizzles of olive oil
Chopped dry parsley for garnish

Pre heat oven at 375

First Brush the top of your mushrooms with EVOO. On a baking sheet, place mushrooms with the bottom facing upwards.
In a small sauce pan add 1 tablespoon butter or smart balance and melt over med heat. Add breadcrumbs stir and set aside.
Grab a large skillet and add a few drizzles of EVOO and butter over med heat. Add garlic, onion, celery and cook for approx 5 mins till veggies become a little soft. Next add your chopped stale bread cubes and mix. Then add your dry herbs and combine. You should see the bread starting to get a tad bit soft at this time. Next add your beef stock and Kale, combine and sprinkle with salt and pepper. Cook for about 3 to 4 mins till mixture reduces but, not to the point that the stuffing mix is mushy. You want your stuffing to be thick and with the bread cubes still or almost the same size as they were before you cooked them. Once stuffing is done, Cool for about 5 mins just until it’s a little bit easier to handle while stuffing your mushrooms. Stuffing mix is quite hot and this helps prevent “YOU” from getting burnt. Stuff each mushroom as much as you basically can stuff. Sprinkle some of the breadcrumb mix on top and place into a 375 oven for about 10 mins or till the breadcrumb and stuffing is nice and golden brown. Remove and serve adding some beautiful fresh chopped parsley for garnish.

Note: if on a “Renal diet” eliminate the salt and add garlic powder, onion powder, smoked paprika. The amount of bread used for “one” of these mushroom is about the amount of 1 slice of thick Italian or French bread.
Cooking time: approx 20-25 mins

Serves 6 peeps

LF,LC,LS,EVD,RD

About wickeddeliciouskate

Avid Recipe writer, cook, Wife and mom of 2 beautiful girls. Writing recipes for any and "all" diets has become a obsessive passion of mine. I am a home-trained cook who was taught very early by my wonderful mother. I wish to full-fill "her" dream and now mine of writing my very own cookbook someday. The passion and inspiration that cooking and writing recipes ( for me) is like no other. It's what I live for and love to do. It's like a high that I would never want to come down from.

Leave a Reply

