RSS Feed

Whiskey and Apple cider “Poached” pears with Pumpkin butter and brown sugar

” />

IMG_2893.JPG

IMG_3039.JPG

IMG_2911.JPG

So my Family and I decided to do our annual Apple/Pumpkin picking this weekend. Considering it’s “my” weekend off and we are usually not together during the week, it was the perfect day and weather to hop in the car and GOOO. Every year we head to “Echo Head Orchard” in Monson Ma. Kind of like a family tradition sort of thing. This place is wonderful and always has variety of apples, and pears. Sad part is that part of the orchard was hit by a hail storm in early august so some of the apples we usually pick like the cortlands and Macintosh were sadly destroyed by the storm. They did have pre-picked ones up front from some of the trees that weren’t destroyed by the hail storm. We found some beautiful pears that I knew I could turn into some really DELISH so, I knew I would enjoy making this beauty.. So simple and just good by itself, with pumpkin butter or Bettah “ICE CREAM”..

4 pears
2 cups whiskey ( I used Jameson)
3 cups apple cider ( cloudier the better)
1 cup brown sugar
1 cup white sugar
1 cinnamon stick ( or dry)
1 teaspoon vanilla
3 tablespoons pumpkin butter( if you can’t find this, NO WORRIES just use some yummy warm “Nutella” or any kind of nut or fruit spread)
Sprinkle of brown sugar on top of each pear.

In a large pot, add whiskey, cider, both brown and white sugar, cinnamon stick and vanilla. Heat on med heat just till boil ( above 5 mins) once liquid is boiling add your pears, turn your heat to low and simmer for about 1/2 hr. Remove from heat and let the pears cool in the the poaching liquid for about 15 mins( you should be able to poke the pear easily with a knife, that’s how you know they are ready to be served. Remove your pears from or poaching liquid and place on a dish.

Note: before I add my pears to my poaching liquid I cut a little bit of the bottom off just so they stand up nice and straight while plating.

Remove the top from your pumpkin butter jar and heat in the microwave for 10 secs and stir.
Drizzle all that gooey pumpkin butter on top of your pears and sprinkle some brown sugar on top and THATS IT FOLKS.. So good and super easy.

Cooking time: 45 mins

Serves 4

IMG_3081.JPG

About wickeddeliciouskate

Avid Recipe writer, cook, Wife and mom of 2 beautiful girls. Writing recipes for any and "all" diets has become a obsessive passion of mine. I am a home-trained cook who was taught very early by my wonderful mother. I wish to full-fill "her" dream and now mine of writing my very own cookbook someday. The passion and inspiration that cooking and writing recipes ( for me) is like no other. It's what I live for and love to do. It's like a high that I would never want to come down from.

Leave a Reply

